You are here

Address Book Items

The Address Book allows you to create and manage four different top level items:

  • User – Users are members of the SpringCM account who will authenticate via the SpringCM login page or SSO and participate in routine activities such as document management and workflow.
  • Contact – A contact is information about a person that does not directly login or access the SpringCM account directly.  The contact information is used to allow SpringCM users to easily distribute documents via email or fax.
  • Distribution Group – Distribution Groups can contain Contacts or Users and are used to easily distribute documents via email and fax to a group of people.
  • Security Group – Security groups are used to provide authorization in SpringCM. Groups can contain one or more users and are then used to provide View, Edit, Create, and Delete access to documents and folders.

In addition to contacts, users, and groups, another important item managed in the Address Book is a user's role. Roles determine actions that user can take in the account. There are 5 roles in SpringCM:

  • Guest – only view access to documents
  • Limited Subscriber – Similar to guests, but can participate in Advanced Workflow
  • Full Subscriber – Complete access to document management features. Most users will be configured with this role.
  • User Administrator – Complete access to document management features and the ability to perform some administrative tasks, such as creating users and document rules.
  • Super Administrator – Complete access to document management features and full administrative power including managing user security.  There should generally only be one or a few Super Administrators per account.

SpringCM allows roles to be used to set security on documents and folders; however, best practices recommend using security groups for this purpose.

A common best practice for users that have Super Administrator responsibility is to maintain two user logins. The user's normal day-to-day login is created with a role of "Full Subscriber", and a second, special login is created that the user only uses when they have to do account administration. This keeps the user from inadvertently making changes as part of their day to day activities in the account.